Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have always dreamed of having my own peaceful garden and I would love to work on my new patio but my black thumb scares me.  I am determined to conquer this problem and think positive learning from my mistakes.  I can’t even count the number of plants that have died in my care over the last 12 years but its enough to where my husband is dreading the amount of money I plan to put into a garden he isn’t sure will survive.

Here is where I am at so far.  I decided to add nutrients to my garden by getting a worm composter.  I started composting using the Worm Factory on April 8, 2012.  Tray one is almost ready for the garden.  Tray 2 it being worked through pretty good.  And I just added tray three.

I have started a journal for the garden where I mapped out what is planted there now, what’s to stay, what’s to go and what I want to plant.  The palm and the corner plant I call an elephant ear, even though I KNOW it isn’t an elephant ear plant, are being taken out this weekend. I will also have the rose bush trimmed and reworked onto a new lattice.

I have a blackberry vine ready to go into the ground.   A basil plant to replace the one the local snails ate in 2 days. A spearmint, and a chocolate mint.  Due to the snail problem I will be releasing Decollate Snails purchased at my local Green Thumb. Then I will later work on edibles in containers and raised beds. My front entryway will be worked later so that roses, bulbs and a hydrangea will provide cut flowers for the house.

This is a long term project and I have already investigated many items from Pinterest to try and use.  It will be exciting to share this with you and have something to look back on that will either prove if a black thumb is curable or a disorder for life.

