Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One of my girlfriends couldn’t stop talking about how she wanted to bake something and she was craving the cake batter cookies from Pinterest.  I told her since we were already getting together with her and her fiance for dinner lets bake the cookies that night.  We went to the store and gathered the few things we didn’t have in our mutual cupboards.  At the store she told me that she had also read a second pin that said that cornstarch in place of baking powder made fluffier cookies.  I thought well let try it and see what happens.  We then found that they didn’t have the type of sprinkles the recipe called for so we got the little nonpareil dots.  This would be our second adjustment to the recipe before even making it home.

Once home I started to put together the recipe by gathering all our needed items, the left over chocolate sprinkles I had, and a bowl to make it, a spatula, spoon and a whisk.

Image

I mixed the dry in the large bowl, used the cornstarch where the recipe said baking powder, and wet in a separate bowl.  We then added the wet to the dry and got this:

Image

In went 1 (yes I said one) bottle of sprinkles and the half bottle of chocolate sprinkles and got this:

Image

That looked like a lot of sprinkles to us so we decided to not add any more sprinkles even though the recipe called for a full cup, which would have been 3-4 bottles of the nonpareil.  I must warn that we did use different sprinkles so before you start tailoring your recipe keep that in mind.  In the interest of your budget these bottles were on sale for $2.99 a bottle so add slowly until you get the sprinkle ratio you want.

Onto the pan they went, using a soup spoon from my cutlery set (I think that’s what the large of the 2 spoons that comes in your sets is.)  The recipe says it yield 30-32 and we got 28 cookies.

On to the Silpat and into a oven set at 350 degrees (I have a convection oven so it automatically resets to 325)

Image

While they cooked I got a brilliant idea to make a sugar glaze for an icing.  I Googled simple sugar glaze and picked the first one listed.  Got out my pot and saw it needed powdered sugar and water and took everything to the stove.  It said to use a cup of powdered sugar and 1-2 tablespoons of water.

Image

Well I put the sugar in the pot glanced back at the recipe and saw it required no cooking.  Lovely, I must learn to read instructions BEFORE starting. So I used the pot as a bowl, added a tablespoon of water and got this:

Image

I slowly added a little bit more water at a time (I’d say 1/4 tsp- 1/2 at a time) until I got this:

Image

Looked good to me.  Cookies baked for 10 minutes I pulled them out added glaze to half of the first batch.

Image

In went the second batch and we tasted the first.  They were perfect for my girlfriend but seemed slightly undercooked to me so I decided that 14 minutes for the next batch would be perfect.  Welllllllllll, the cookies stayed in for 18 minutes.  I’m a mom who is entertaining people and a 5 month old so cut me some slack. The top cookies are batch #1 bottom is batch #2:

Image

At 18 minutes they were a bit crispier and had a golden color to them.  I LOVED THEM!  I would probably set them for a 15 minute cook time in the future but these were really easy and so good!!

Cake Batter Cookies:  The Pin  The Website

Cornstarch Tip:  The Pin  The Website

Simple Sugar Glaze:  The Pin  The Website

